Closure of 10 Schools continues in Kwara as government make extension

By Ugbede Usman

Spread the love

The Kwara State Government has extended the closure of 10 Mission Secondary Schools in the state.

This was announced in a statement signed by the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development, Mrs Kemi Adeosun. The statement said, the schools is to remain closed for security reasons.

The government shut the 10 schools owned by some Christians Missions in the state on 19, February 2021, due to crisis on the use of Hijab by Muslims female students of the schools.

The Government earlier has approved the wearing of Hijab in all government garnt-aided public schools in the state and asked the schools to be reopened today Monday.

In the state the government said “Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development whishes to inform members of the public that the 10 government schools where the use of Hijab is disputed will remain shut until a later date. This decision has been taken for safety reasons.

“A statement by the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development, Mrs Kemi Adeosun, listed the schools to include C&S College Sabi Oke, St. Anthony College, Offa Road, ECWA School Oja It’s, Surulere Baptist Secondary School, Bishop Smith Secondary School, Agba Dam, CAC Secondary School Ass Dam road, St. Barnabas Secondary School, Sabi Oke, St.John School Maraba, St. Williams Secondary School Taiwo Isale, and St. James School Maraba.

“The government, therefore directs schools children and teachers in the affected Schools to remain at home until the contrary is announced. The government remains committed to fairness, pluralism, and respect for the law and rights of every citizens at all times”

Spread the love
Show More
Back to top button
  • Media Bypass allows you to access and report news from all over the world as it happens. This is achieved by bringing together a big team of participants as both Journalists and Readers.