AfricaCorona VirusNigeria

COVID-19: 7 African countries to begin antibody tests – ACDC

By Oluwaseun Sonde

The Africa Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (ACDC) has said that Seven African countries will begin administering Coronavirus antibody tests next week, as it’s part of an effort to understand how widespread the infection is on the continent.

The Head of Africa CDC, John Nkengasong disclosed this in a weekly briefing on Thursday, while the first set of countries that committed to it are Liberia, Sierra Leone, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Cameroon, Nigeria and Morocco.

Dr Nkengasong said Africa was making good progress for vaccine development, adding that the continent had conducted 9.4 million coronavirus tests so far, closing in on the 10 million target set in collaboration with member states.

He said a continental strategy was being developed to set up a consortium of clinical trials and then begin the procurement and financing of vaccines.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button