FG grants 2month licence fee waiver for terrestrial broadcast stations

By Oluwaseun Sonde

Spread the love

The Federal Government has approved the request by the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) to grant a two-month licence fee waiver for terrestrial broadcast stations in Nigeria as NBC has sent protective equipment to some Community Broadcast Stations across the country.

This was disclosed by the Honourable Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed during a meeting with the Broadcasting Organization of Nigeria (BON) in Abuja on Wednesday, he said Government has decided to set up a committee of industry stakeholders to look into and advise it on the best way to mitigate the effect of the pandemic on the industry. He said Creative Industry is a very critical sector of the nation’s economy and a major plank of the economic diversification policy of the Administration.

“It creates the highest number of jobs after Agriculture, especially for the youth. Therefore, there is no doubt that we need a collective and government-supported approach in dealing with the immediate, short and long term palliatives and initiatives for the industry, in order to mitigate the effect of the pandemic on the sector”.

He further gave terms of reference to the committee which are, Assess the expected impact of the pandemic on the industry in general Advise the Government on how to mitigate job and revenue losses in the sector as well as to create succour for the industry small businesses, Suggest the type of taxation and financing that is best for the industry at this time to encourage growth, Advise the Government on any other measure or measures that can be undertaken to support the industry.

The members of the Committee are: Alli Baba – Comedy, Film and TV (Chairman), Bolanle Austen Peters – Film and Performing Arts (TerraKulture), Charles Novia – Television and Independent Producer(TeenTV), Segun Arinze- Actor and Producer, Ali Jita – Actor and Musician, Baba Agba – Film Director (BCI Studios), Kene Okwuosa – Cinema and Distribution (Filmhouse), Efe Omoregbe – Record label and Collective rights management (Hypertek/Now Muzik) 9. Prince Daniel Aboki – Radio and Film (CoolFM/WaZoBia), Chioma Ude – Streaming (Envivo), Olumade Adesemowo – Television and Platform (FreeTV), Dare Art Alade – Livespot Entertainment, Hajia Sa’a Ibrahim – Broadcasting Organizations of Nigeria (BON), Anita Eboigbe – News Agency of Nigeria (Secretary).

Spread the love
Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
  • Media Bypass allows you to access and report news from all over the world as it happens. This is achieved by bringing together a big team of participants as both Journalists and Readers.