FG inaugurates Post Covid-19 Initiative Com’ttee for Creative Industry

By Oluwaseun Sonde

The Honourable Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed has inaugurated Post-Covid-19 Initiatives Committee for Creative Industry in dealing with the immediate, short and long term economic stimulus and initiatives for the industry, in order to mitigate the effect of the pandemic on the sector.

The virtual inauguration was done on Tuesday through teleconference in Abuja, the Minister said “It is imperative for us to have a collective and government-supported approach in dealing with the immediate, short and long term economic stimulus and initiatives for the industry, in order to mitigate the effect of the pandemic on the sector”.

He added that the Covid-19 pandemic has impacted negatively on the nation, and the Creative Industry has been particularly hard hit, considering the fact that it is an industry that has people-interaction at its core. “I also said instead of addressing these problems piecemeal, we should do so holistically for a more positive outcome.

The Committee’s membership, as announced two weeks ago, has now been expanded to include as many sectors as possible. This is to ensure a fair representation. However, while the committee cannot accommodate all members of the industry, it is certain that all members will benefit from its work”, he said.

He implored the entire industry to support this committee. “This is no time for division. All hands must be on deck so the industry can rebound. I want to thank all those who have made comments and observations on the composition of the committee. This shows the great interest that the entire industry has in the work of the panel.

The Committee has been given the following Terms of Reference: Assess the expected impact of the pandemic on the industry in general, Advise the Government on how to mitigate job and revenue losses in the sector as well as to create succour for the industry small businesses, Suggest the type of taxation and financing that is best for the industry at this time to encourage growth, Advise the Government on any other measure or measures that can be undertaken to support the industry”, he said.

List of the entire membership of the committee. Ali Baba – Comedy, Film and TV (Chairman), Hajia Sa’a Ibrahim – Broadcasting Organizations of Nigeria (BON) – Vice Chairman, Bolanle Austen Peters – Film and Performing Arts, Charles Novia – Television and Independent Producer, Segun Arinze- Actor and Producer, Ali Jita – Actor and Musician, Baba Agba – Film Director, Kene Okwuosa – Cinema and Distribution, Efe Omoregbe – Record label and Collective rights management, Prince Daniel Aboki – Radio and Film, Chioma Ude – Streaming, Olumade Adesemowo – Television and Platform (FreeTV), Dare Art Alade – Livespot Entertainment, Oliver Enwonwu – President, Society of Nigerian Artists (SNA), Alhaji Saleh Rabo – President, Federation of Tourism Associations of Nigeria, Bala Hassan – Booksellers Association, Ali Nuhu – Kannywood, Tajudeen Owoyemi – Hotels, B.M. Dzukogi – Association of Nigerian Authors, TY Bello – Photography, Lanre Da Silva Ajayi – Fashion, Anita Eboigbe – Secretary.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button