NYSC DG bags award for his contribution to National Integration

By Oluwaseun Sonde

The National Youth Service Corps Director-General, Brigadier General Shuaibu Ibrahim has bagged a Merit Award conferred for his contributions to National Integration, cohesion, patriotism and quality leadership.

The conferment ceremony was organised by the Afo Community Development Forum, took place at New Keffi Hotel, Keffi, Nasarawa State on Saturday.

In his address, the Chairman of the ocassion and Emir of Nasarawa, Alhaji Ibrahim Usman Jibril commended the organisers for honouring the Awardees, noting that the event had further demonstrated the spirit of oneness among the Afo people. He enjoined them to remain united for the overall development of the area.

He also called for concerted efforts, especially by the prominent indigenes of the area, to address issues of security and poor condition of roads in some of the communities, which have implications for agricultural development.

The Emir used the ocassion to extol the virtues of Brigadier General Shuaibu Ibrahim saying that he remained a source of pride to the people of the State due to his accomplishments and selfless service.

Speaking later in an interview, the Director-General said he felt elated by the Award and thanked the organizers for considering him worthy of recognition.

He said the Award would spur him to contribute more to the promotion of peace, unity and development not only in Afo Community and his home State of Nasarawa, but also the entire nation.

Earlier in his welcome address, the Chairman of the Planning Committee, Mr Joel Olugbo said the Awardees were honoured in recognition of their contributions to the progress of Afo Community.

Twenty One other illustrious Afo sons and daughters were also conferred with Awards at the ceremony.

Prominent among them are the Emir of Keffi, Alhaji (Dr) Shehu Chindo Yamusa III, the Osu Ajiri, Alhaji Halilu Bala Usman, Osu Agwada, Alhaji Abubakar Sadiq, former Governor of Nasarawa State, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, Dan Masanin Edege, Alhaji Abubakar O.E Kana and Police Commissioner, Ayuba Ede Ekpeji.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button